Four stages of competence

The learning model that has been the most use to me has been the Four stages of competence. I think part of the reason I like it is I find a bit of humour in calling myself incompetent. I am a bit of a Highlander fan and when I hear the word incompetent I remember this scene from the movie:

Tony the Hotdog Vendor: [as Tony reads a newspaper headlined: Headhunter-3, Cops-Zero] Hey Moran! Have you read what it says in here?

Lieutenant Frank Moran: You kiddin’ Tony? You know cops can’t read.

Tony the Hotdog Vendor: [Teasingly to Moran] What does ‘INCOMPETENT’ mean?

Movie trivia aside.

To learn you have to acknowledge that you don’t know something. At this point you are moving from Unconsciously Incompetent to Consciously Incompetent. This can be the hardest step for some people but is critical to start the learning process off. As a mentor this is one of my big challenges. Thankfully I often draw the Four stages of competence matrix and call out there is a long list of things in the unconsciously incompetent quadrant that they just don’t know about.

Four Stages of Competence

and so starts the learning process from there.

I hope you find it as useful as I do.

Leave a Reply

