Keeping technically fit

As part of the struggle to keep technically fresh as an Architect, I can do the text book learning but being able to find things that allow me to exercise that knowledge is always the challenge. A couple of things have come to my attention recently that gives me a way of doing rather than just reading.

The first was, one of my colleagues as part of his learning of Ruby built a program that is part of a experiment that Lutz Prechelt did for his empirical comparison of seven programming languages. You can download the test data (input and output files) for the phonecode program used in that experiment and try it yourself.

The second was the CodeKata site that PragDave has put together that contains, currently 21, Code Kata’s which are short problems that you can solve and resolve as part of your technical exercise routine. These are logical problems that are solved as a design exercise and there are coding problems that you implement as well as design.

Well no excuses now I guess I had better get my joggers and sweat bands on and get to it. Ouch, better do some stretches first.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

